My Dad’s a Goldfish – Meets a tadpole

The Goldfish always loved babies and small children. Whenever we were out, whether in a supermarket or café, he would always have a smile for toddlers and they always smiled right back at him. ‘Wee toots’ he called them.

I don’t think I need say much about the day he first met his great grandson – the pictures say it all.

DSCF0612s

The Goldfish meets his great grandson

DSCF0614s

Mutual admiration across the generations

DSCF0615s

Great grandson, granny and great granddad

24 thoughts on “My Dad’s a Goldfish – Meets a tadpole

  1. Great photos what joy on your dad’s face. Maureen had a similar experience on our walk yesterday as you will see from my Blog. Now the warmer weather is hear there will be lots of little ones on the beach or in the Sand Pit so you can guess how we’ll spend the summer: child watching. I’ve even thought of seeking voluntary work where we’ll both help out at a Play Group.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, it really was a joyful moment. I will read about Maureen’s experience. I hope we have a good summer so Maureen has plenty of opportunities to be out child watching. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. Great photos, Mary. My mum used to really relate to children as well. The funny thing is, she kept asking me ‘how are the children?’. It was a social convention she clung to as much as anything, but I was never sure what children she meant. Was she thinking of her own (i.e. me and my brothers)? Our our children – my son and my brothers’ children? I never knew.

    But it’s really lovely to see these photos and to think about the circle of life. There’s always a new generation born to take the baton, with new challenges, in a new and changing world. I like that.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The baby won’t ever remember meeting his great grandfather but he’ll have the photo and the stories he’ll be told about him.
      My sister and I were wondering last night if small children recognised something in people with dementia which makes them respond. Often small children are shy of strangers but none acted shy towards dad – always smiling back at him.
      Dad’s social convention questions were: “Have you any holidays planned yet?”, “Have you had a busy day?” and “How’s the family?” Once, when he was still fairly okay but not able to recognise people he knew (bit like the stage I feel I’m at!) he told me he always asked about the family in the hope the reply would give him a clue as to who was talking to him. I think I’ll try that.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. All of your photos are amazing. But these are particularly lovely to have. It’s funny how important the photos of grandparents and great-grandparents become as we ourselves get older and want to connect backwards.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, Wee-sis and I treasure these photos. It’s so true what you say about us wanting to connect backwards – and don’t we all wish we’d paid more attention to the stories we heard from grandparents and parents?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Such wonderful photos to cherish, Mary – the bond of love so clear to see. Reminded me of the old saying that ‘a baby brings their own love’ and by the smile of this little chap, he’s brought plenty to share. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for commenting with such lovely words, Rae. He was absolutely delighted to meet his great grandfather! And my dad was thrilled to be holding a baby in his arms – even if he didn’t actually know who he was. Or, maybe he did.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

